What radiator?

alans87zuk said:
So does anyone have a diagram of a properly plumbed IDI!  I'm just getting started on mine and would much prefer to not have heating issue's.
Acme adapters site does. Back of the head goes to heater core.

Yes but like Spokerider said, when you turn the heater control valve off no water flow goes through that port either in or out. not sure of the direction of flow there. I had two Volkswagen 1.6 td's and they had different fittings there,one had a single outlet and the other had a dual outlet. The one with the dual outlet has the outlet for the heater core 90 degrees from the one Jeff says to use for your heater connection,so what I'm trying to figure out is where I would tie the one Jeff says to use into the cooling system.

alans87zuk said:
Yes but like Spokerider said, when you turn the heater control valve off no water flow goes through that port either in or out. not sure of the direction of flow there. I had two Volkswagen 1.6 td's and they had different fittings there,one had a single outlet and the other had a dual outlet. The one with the dual outlet has the outlet for the heater core 90 degrees from the one Jeff says to use for your heater connection,so what I'm trying to figure out is where I would tie the one Jeff says to use into the cooling system.
You're right. I wasn't thinking about the heater valve. I've never seen a dual outlet for the back. Don't know why you'd need that. If I was doing a swap with a heater valve I'd get a 4 port valve. I don't have a part number or an application to look for but I've seen these. You will always have coolant flowing through, either through the heater core or bypassing the heater core. The hoses he suggests may or may not work.

View attachment Coolant.webp

So there I was looking at a 2020 GMC Colorado with the 2.8L 4 cyl diesel.