Welding on the Zuk frame

Jurome

Any tips for welding onto the Zuk frame? I am getting prepared for the frame reinforcements and am thinking about practicing some more "thick to thin" beads before I commit. I have a really good Miller MIG and thanks to YouTube and much practice I have made some huge improvements. Welding on the flat I am very confident but have only a handful of vertical weld tasks under my belt. On some practice rounds I have been keeping the bead into the thicker metal to avoid burning though the thinner material with really good results...albeit, practicing with the material laid flat. If it is flat I can make it look like a stack of dimes...on the vertical...well...

Is it OK to weld the plates on the frame in a downhill direction? I'm not too worried about penetration since the material is so thin.

Any other tips and/or suggestions welcomed.

I'm no expert, but my Brother in law is.
He asked why I wanted to reinforce with 1/4".
The frame is 1/8th or maybe even less.
He recommended trying 1/8th or 3/16th.
Made perfect sense to me. Why worry about
burn throughs and penetration in 1/4" when
the frame will be braced with thicker metal
than it was from the factory with 1/8th inch fishplates.   [idea] :welder:

Yeah I think the plates are around 3/16?. I guess for now I?ll grab some scraps of the same dimension (thickness) of the frame and plates and practice welding them together to see how the bead affects the thinner material.

What frame reinforcements are you planning on?

IMHO / unprofessional opinion....... try to make any frame mods *appear* factory. Reason; if you drive on the road and ever get a VI notice, any obvious frame mods / welding will be suspect. The CVSE  inspectors are trained to look for this on obviously modded vehicles during road-side checks. By law, we BC'er's are supposed to get a frame inspection done after any welding done to a frame.....most will not, and wait for the eventual VI if it ever comes.