99 Vitara rear driveshaft base model

4zukyard

Anything special about these shafts?  A neighbor stopped this morning with a rear driveshaft vibration issue.  He took it to a mech. that replaced both ujoints, the vibration is still there.  He was told he needs a new shaft due to the "foam" being gone?  To me it cant be a whole shaft but I have no experience with Vitara.  Any help would be appreciated before I go and look at this thing.  Do Tracker shafts interchange?  Thanx.

I just replaced both rear u-joints on my 2002 4 door earlier this year.... I didn't notice anything unique about its construction?

I agree with Recon , nothing different than previous years .. Just your basic steel drive shaft .. I have replaced many u-joints in these , with no issues what so ever ... [thumbsup]  [thumbsup]

Foam Gone ??  What the heck is he talking about  ?    [smiley=headscratch.gif]

did you check the phase of the driveshaft? when they did the u-joint's it's easy to put them back in out of phase if your not paying attention.

zuki709 date=1365989664 said:
did you check the phase of the driveshaft? when they did the u-joint's it's easy to put them back in out of phase if your not paying attention.
OMG, you mean they could have put the U-joints in  .....backwards? OMG, I may have been doing it wrong for years!   LOL! 
Seriously, there is not a phase problem with the Tracker/Vitara shafts since there is no slip-yoke like a Samurai driveshaft. There is a liner inside the late model driveshafts and sometimes it separates from the inside of the driveshaft tube and causes it to become out of balance. I rarely see this problem, but it is either that or the shop tweaked/bent one of the "ears" that hold the U-joint caps in place when pressing it in as this is common as well. SAFELY Put the vehicle up on jack stands and then watch the d-shaft rotate freely and see if it has a wobble and if not replace the d-shaft.